Havanese Forum banner

Feeding Raw Safely?

2K views 12 replies 11 participants last post by  marjrc 
#1 ·
I've been feeding Tucker Raw for a couple of months and he LOVES it. For the first time in his life he is interested in food. However, I am uncomfortable about the cleanliness of his face after eating twice a day. (He get NV Medallions.)

Exactly how do you clean their faces? With washcloth or in the sink? With soap, conditioner, hair dryer twice a day?!?!? That just seems like too much and is way past getting old! I'm tempted to stop feeding raw just because of the time it takes to clean his face. (I can't just let his hair dry, it's too damp here. He'd never dry and would get awful skin problems from always being damp.)

#4 ·
Sheri, yes, the raw remains on their beards can be a problem, esp. when it sticks and the only way to get it off is wait until it's dry and comb it out. I also use a wet paper towel, then comb the beards and figure it's better than nothing! I'm not terribly worried, but I don't like seeing bits of chicken hanging off their whiskers! lol

Some have sugg'd a facial scrub and there are many types that members here use....

#5 ·
I used to give Beamer a bit of a beard wash when we first started with raw, but as time went on we just became less concerned about it. Today we do not clean his face at all anymore. And if he does have a chunk of meat stuck in his beard, we take it out.. lol

Ryan

#6 ·
I am the same as Ryan. I figure they lick their faces to get every last morsel. But I do feed the medallions slightly frozen so they are not as gooey (I let the frozen medallions sit on the counter about 20 minutes before feeding-- just soft enough to cut with a steak knife) If I give them a raw bone I do a quick muzzle bath. We also keep Earth Bath wipes handy for beards and butts and feet when needed. (but I wonder if baby wipes are cheaper)

Amazon.com: Earth Bath Hypo-Allergenic Grooming Wipes: Home & Garden

#7 ·