Havanese Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
i have a male black/tan 8 week old puppy . I recently got him on thursday. The breeder gave me a dewormer that i had to use for 3days(today finished). She gave me Albon pills though . ( im completely new at this, first puppy) I wasnt satisfied with what i was told "the puppy will undergo stress so this clears bacteria" . I have enough knowledge to know that if she gave me those little pills to give him its because he NEEDS them medically, So i did my research. I contacted her ASAP when i read why the medication is taken and she told me he has Coccidia. :( Im a bit disappointed she didnt tell me that from the beginning. I';m so afraid i love this little guy so much. He's active, run plays jumps. He's eating dry kibble (pedigree for puppies). Yesterday he didnt POOP until 10PM and then again at 4AM. I did notice his poop was hard and he was struggling so def. it is constipation. (this is where i get confused. when researching coccidia it says symptoms are diarrhea and he doesnt have diarrhea but the opposite ) I was told when this happens i can add a bit of milk to his water so he can loosen up. it worked :). Ahh his nose. sometimes its dry, other times is a bit wet. Is it true dry noses means unhealthy pup? If anyone can answer all these questions please do so. Im new to this and i Love my little guy ! I dont want anything horrible to happen.

·
Gucci's mom
9,378 Posts
Hi and :welcome:

I am so sorry to hear about starting off with a ailment to treat :( that really sucks and your breeder should've fully disclosed everything to you.

If I were you, I"d make an appt with the vet asap and get him evaluated, since you breeder may be assuming he has something and treating him with another dog's medicine (you never know!!! Especially, if he isn't showing symptoms)