Havanese Forum banner
1 - 20 of 38 Posts

·
Registered
33 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
When I pick up my Havanese pup (~10 weeks old), I want to maintain a puppy cut for its life. How often do you have to go to the groomer to keep a puppy cut look and reasonable length for nails?

I have no experience cutting dog hair, but is this harder than it looks? Are there things that the dog groomer does that I wouldn't be able to do properly or at all from home as an amateur?

How often should nails, anal glands, and dew claws be done typically? My pup has dew claws which I've heard is harder to cut down (I've heard people use dremel tools?)

I've read that getting professional clippers ($200ish) is a good start. I see some videos on YouTube that I can watch. I figure I can go to the groomer a few times until it's about 1 year old or so and then try eventually. I'm also open to doing my own trims throughout the year and then maybe do like 2 professional groomer ones a year as well to keep costs reasonable.

·
Registered
2,189 Posts
I've kept Perry in a puppy cut his whole life - and how long you go in between grooming really depends on what length you want to keep it, how short you stop, etc, but I'd say probably 4-6 weeks is a good ball park range. When I do it myself, I generally do it again when combing him out starts to get difficult/ more knots are starting to appear :).