Havanese Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello Everyone!

I got a 4 month old female from a breeder in NY 2 months ago. She is the sweetest little dog and gets along great with my 3 kids (5,4,2). She is just starting to get used to the idea of going to the potty outdoors. She was paper trained by the breeder.
I was looking into getting a trainer at an early stage to make sure I do things correctly. I live in Long Island, NY. I met a trainer and he was insisting an e collar that gives a little shock is the best and quickest method for housebreaking and obedience. I can't think of any reason to shock a little harmless puppy at this age. Anyone know of good trainers in Long Island?
Any other tips on starting obedience and house training at an early stage? I already read Ian Dunbars pieces.
Thanks!

·
Dave T
10,876 Posts
run like hell from any ecollar trainers,. yeah I find trainers for a living lol. Email me privately with your zip code.

·
Registered
371 Posts
Run like hell from anyone that would suggest shocking a puppy or any dog for that matter-My daughter is a dog trainer and will tell you privately what to do. If you email me, I will give you her number and email address.

·
Dave T
10,876 Posts
I pm'd you again with her web site.

·
Registered
822 Posts
If you are interested in group training, Riley and I did very well at Pet Smart in Levittown. We went all the way thru to advanced obedience. Ebby is the trainer I prefer. Dave, would you mind PMing me that website? We've outgrown Pet Smart. Good for you, Simon, for trusting your gut.

·
Registered
851 Posts