Havanese Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
We lost our Lucy, 11.5 years old due to heart failure and pulmonary hypertension. I got Lucy the day I graduated college so she had been with me my entire adult life. I'm now married and have 2 young kids (3.5 and 6 months) but somehow the house is just too quiet without her.

I am a dog person through and through and can't imagine starting over and getting a new dog. I know we will but even thinking about it makes me feel like I am replacing her.

Also, 11.5 years ago was a different time with getting a dog, wrapping my head around waitlists and the like is crazy.

How long did everyone wait after they lost a dog to getting a new one? Do I need to reach out now to breeders if I'm looking for a dog in the next year or two? All of this completely overwhelms me.

Dog Carnivore Water dog Comfort Companion dog

Picture of our Lucy :(

·
Registered
85 Posts
We lost our Lucy, 11.5 years old due to heart failure and pulmonary hypertension. I got Lucy the day I graduated college so she had been with me my entire adult life. I'm now married and have 2 young kids (3.5 and 6 months) but somehow the house is just too quiet without her.

I am a dog person through and through and can't imagine starting over and getting a new dog. I know we will but even thinking about it makes me feel like I am replacing her.

Also, 11.5 years ago was a different time with getting a dog, wrapping my head around waitlists and the like is crazy.

How long did everyone wait after they lost a dog to getting a new one? Do I need to reach out now to breeders if I'm looking for a dog in the next year or two? All of this completely overwhelms me.

View attachment 178912
Picture of our Lucy :(