Havanese Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Metrowest, MA
31,844 Posts
This puppy is a sable. He looks like he will probably be a gold sable, but that will be easier to tell when he is a bit older. But there is no doubt that he is sable.

·
Metrowest, MA
31,844 Posts
A lot of breeders mistakenly call sables “brindle if they have a black mask. The mask actually comes from a different gene.

·
Metrowest, MA
31,844 Posts

·
Metrowest, MA
31,844 Posts
I took it to mean a bit hard to follow and figure out :)
Ah, yes, Havanese color genetics are very complicated, because there are MANY “modifier” genes, and we do not know the markers for them all yet, nor do we fully understand how they influence base color genes!

Reactions: Melissa Brill

·
Metrowest, MA
31,844 Posts
What an itty bitty cute puppy. I love his color
When you said gold I pictured it so differently. To me (I’m new at Havanese) his color looks so unique like a really pretty smokey gray
Havanese always look so happy!
The problem is, the breeder has to put something on the registration for a color, at a time when they really have NO idea what the puppy will look like as an adult. And AKC doesn’t help, because the color choices they even allow you to CHOOSE don’t line up with color genetics. So breeders have to make the best guess and the best choice they can at 8-12 weeks, when they need to register the puppy.

·
Metrowest, MA
31,844 Posts
His color is constantly changing! I’m pretty sure he has the silvering gene (I think someone told me there’s a gene for that but I’ll defer to @krandall) Right now it’s more grey, though more blond on his underside, but other times it’s much more of a flaxen/light gold color. His changes were most striking in his first year, which is often true of sables (a few more pics of that below, before his first haircut when the dark tips came off), but even 10 years later, he keeps us guessing!

View attachment 178850
View attachment 178852
View attachment 178851