Havanese Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
354 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everybody :)

I am looking for help and/or suggestions about the monthly flea/tick preventative that I put on Dionna's back--between the shoulder area. I am using a product that I purchase from the vet and it is supposed to be a bit gentler than some of the more commercial products. The issue is, when I put it on (and I only use about half), Dionna goes NUTS. She is so unhappy, becomes almost manic in her attempts to rub it off. It is heartbreaking to witness. Yesterday was the worst yet. I actually put her under water to help ease her discomfort (according to the box, the water should not impact the effectiveness; only soap and water will do that).

Does anybody have any experience with this? Since this is technically my first dog (please see my intro for more details), I am new to this whole world of monthly preventatives. Are there alternatives that are commonly used by the more experienced members of this board? I live on the east coast and it is hot and humid here; bugs are an issue.

Thank you all for your sage counsel on this. I am just beside myself with having to witness this. BTW, she does just fine with the monthly heart worm pill.

andra

·
Teresita
1,534 Posts
Poor baby. Do a search on apple cider vinegar. There is a lot of info on that and many people use it as a preventative trying to avoid those reactions to the chemicals of the meds. Good luck. :)

·
Gucci's mom
9,378 Posts
You should call your vet and talk to them about this, it could be a skin reaction that is painful to her OR it could be that she hates the smell or it itches, but my guess is the vet will probably try something else.

I have seen Gucci run around and try to rub smells off of herself but its more like she's annoyed and not in a panic-state, so maybe there is a skin reaction involved.

Call the vet before you put another application on, better to be safe.

Kara

·
Flynn of Sir Winston fame