Havanese Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
1,036 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Newbie here. Don't have a Havanese yet.:( :( Timing is everything and I was hoping for a puppy or a young adult in the summer because we can give it 24x7 attention with our summer schedules. So, it may take me some time or even a few years. I have done about all the research I can online. Does anyone have any reading suggestions to help a newbie, ie. potty training, etc.?

·
Registered
9,794 Posts
I love the "puppies for Dummies" and "housetraining for dummies" books. They answered a lot of my questions and seemed to give many options on how to do things. Good Luck!!

·
Registered
47 Posts
I love the "puppies for Dummies" and "housetraining for dummies" books. They answered a lot of my questions and seemed to give many options on how to do things. Good Luck!!
Yeah the puppy Dummy and idiot type books are equally good with a good amount of humor thrown in.

Excellent Havanese breed specific book is "The Havanese" by Diane Klumb with Dr. Joanne Baldwin.

Good luck with your search.

·
Registered
1,036 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Thanks for your advise. I heard from the breeder yesterday and if everything goes OK it looks like we may have a puppy in late March or April. Sooner than I expected, but I can make it work out with the help of family and friends. So, I guess I better start reading very fast.

Thanks again for your advice. I love this webite!:) :)I am learning so much

·
Registered
1,036 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
I just thought I would update everyone. I am getting very excited because I just talked to the breeder today on the phone. We talked for an hour. (Previously we had emails). She was wonderful. She will be monitoring the puppies to see which one will make a good pet therapy dog. That it our goal. So, I just mailed the deposit and contract. This is wonderful!:D :D :D